• Let the love of learning rule humanity

Chapter News

Updates will be posted here about chapter events and news of interest to our members. You can also join our Facebook group for updates on news, events, and photos. CLICK HERE to visit our page.

Spring 2023 Announcements

Invitations to membership to join the Louisiana State University Chapter Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi have been e-mailed to qualified students (LSU’s top 7.5 percent of second semester juniors and the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students.). Deadline to join is April 10, 2023. Initiation ceremonies will be held on April 26, 2023.

Applications for outstanding PKP member awards have been emailed to PKP members--Juniors, Seniors, Masters and Terminal Degrees. Deadline to receive applications is April 6, 2023.

Applications for Outstanding Instructor and Tenure track Non-Tenured Faculty Awards have been mailed to Deans and Departments Chairs. Deadline to receive applications is April 11, 2023.

Questions should be directed to Professor Louay Mohammad at Louaym@Lsu.Edu.

LSU CEE Ph.D. Student participated in a "Clean Community Event"

Ibrahim Elnaml, CEE Ph.D. student, participated in the Phi Kappa Phi honor society fall service project in partnership with local non-profit Clean Pelican, and other Baton Rouge community. The Clean Community Event service project was held on Saturday, October 15, 2022 at Acadian Village shopping center. CLICK HERE to view photos.

LSU Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Holds Awards and Initiation Ceremony

The Louisiana State University Chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi held its 2022 Awards and Induction Ceremony on Tuesday, April 19th at the Dalton Woods Auditorium of the College of Coast and Environment building at Louisiana State University. Dr. Louay Mohammad, Chapter President, presided over the ceremony. The guest keynote speaker was Dr. Matt Lee, LSU interim Executive Vice-President and Provost. Seventy-one students, faculty members and instructors staff became members this year.

The following students received awards at the ceremony: Outstanding Junior- Emilie Ravain; Outstanding Masters Student-Maya C. Tate; Outstanding Terminal Degree Student-Irene Marti Gil; and 2022 National Graduate Fellowship Nominee- Sanaa Alam.

The following faculty members received awards: Non-Tenured Faculty Award winners, Dr. Emmanouil Chatzopoulos (Department of Physics and Astronomy); Dr. Daniel Holstein (Department of Oceanography and Coastal Sciences); Dr. Youn 'Lily' Kim (School of Social Work); Dr. Allison Young (Department of Art History). Outstanding Instructors winners, Dr. Karim El kholy (Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering) and Dr. Jason M. Wolfe (Department of History).

CLICK HERE to view the event photo album on Facebook.

From left to right: Dr. Matt Lee (Keynote Speaker), Dr. Louay Mohammad (PKP President)

From left to right in photo above: Dr. Matt Lee (Keynote Speaker), Dr. Louay Mohammad (PKP President)

Group photo of initiates and award recipients

Group photo of initiates and award recipients

Love of Learning Awards

Love of Learning Awards help fund post-baccalaureate professional development for active Phi Kappa Phi members to include (but not be limited to): Graduate or professional studies, doctoral dissertations, continuing education, career development, travel related to teaching/research/learning, etc. Two hundred awards are available at $500 each. Light your way with a Love of Learning Award today!

CLICK HERE to learn more and apply before June 30, 2022. Recipients will be notified September 1, 2022.

LSU Member Awarded Fellowship

Congratualtions to Sanaa Alam, member of the LSU Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, who was selected as a Fellow, and will receive an award of $8,500!

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi currently awards fifty Fellowships of $8,500 each, six at $20,000 each, and two at $35,000 each to members entering the first year of graduate or professional study. Each active Phi Kappa Phi chapter may select one candidate from among its local applicants to compete for the Society-wide awards.