various images representing LTRC's focus areas
Search this site:

Staff Listing


Scroll down to browse our staff listing, or click any of the areas below.

Office of the Director

Title Name Phone Number E-mail
Director Sam Cooper, Ph.D., P.E. (225) 767-9101 samuel.cooper@la.gov
Executive Services Assistant Sheri Hughes (225) 767-9131 sheri.hughes@la.gov

External Programs

Title Name Phone Number E-mail
Associate Director Vijaya (V.J.) Gopu, Ph.D., P.E. (225) 767-9102 v.gopu@la.gov

Research and Development

Title Name Phone Number E-mail
Associate Director, Research Tyson Rupnow, Ph.D., P.E. (225) 767-9124 tyson.rupnow@la.gov
Executive Services Assistant Bridget LeBlanc (225) 767-9139 bridget.leblanc@la.gov
Business Office Manager Theresa Rankin (225) 767-9121 theresa.rankin@la.gov
Business Office Accountant Tina Blanchard Kleinpeter (225) 767-9154 kristina.blanchard@la.gov
Computer Manager Adele Lee (225) 767-9729 adele.lee@la.gov

Pavement and Geotechnical Research

Title Name Phone Number E-mail
Pavement & Geotechnical
Research Administrator
Zhongjie "Doc" Zhang, Ph.D., P.E. (225) 767-9162 doc.zhang@la.gov
Pavement Research
Pavement Research Manager Kevin Gaspard, P.E. (225) 767-9104 kevin.gaspard@la.gov
Pavement Research Manager Mark Martinez, P.E. (225) 767-9151 mark.martinez@la.gov
Engineering Technician DCL Terrell Gorham (225) 767-9160 terrell.gorham@la.gov
Engineering Technician 5 Benjamin Key (225) 767-9190 benjamin.key@la.gov
Engineering Technician 4 Biyuan Zheng (225) 767-9120 biyuan.zheng@la.gov
Pavement Research Facility - ALF
Professor - Research
Accelerated Pavement
Research Program Manager
Zhong Wu, Ph.D., P.E. (225) 767-9163 zhongwu@ltrc.lsu.edu
Pavement Research
Facility Manager
Moinul Mahdi, Ph.D. (225) 749-8900 mmahdi2@lsu.edu
Pavement Research Specialist 3 Keith Gillespie (225) 749-8900 keith.gillespie@la.gov
Research Associate 4 Xiaohui Sun (225) 767-9728 xsun@lsu.edu
Research Specialist Alphonse Vallery
Geotechnical Research
Senior Geotechnical
Research Engineer
Gavin Gautreau, P.E. (225) 767-9110 gavin.gautreau@la.gov
Geotechnical
Research Engineer Intern
Nick Ferguson, E.I. (225) 767-9127 nicholas.ferguson@la.gov
Engineering Technician DCL Ural "Renee" Cosse (225) 767-9113 ural.cosse@la.gov
Engineering Technician 4 Hend Alyousef (225) 767-9113 hend.alyousef@la.gov
Engineering Technician 4 Preston Causey (225) 767-9113 preston.causey@la.gov
Geotechnical Engineering Research Laboratory
Professor, Research
GERL Manager
Murad Abu-Farsakh, Ph.D., P.E. (225) 767-9147 cefars@lsu.edu
Research Associate Ismaail Ghaaowd (225) 767-9194 ighaaowd@lsu.edu

Materials Research

Title Name Phone Number E-mail
Materials Research
Administrator
Samuel B. Cooper III, Ph.D., P.E. (225) 767-9164 samuel.cooperIII@la.gov
Asphalt Research
Asphalt Research Engineer Corey Mayeux, P.E. (225) 767-9138 corey.mayeux@la.gov
Asphalt Engineer Saman Salari, P.E. (225) 767-9128 saman.salari@la.gov
Engineering Technician 4 Hannah Boggs (225) 767-9180 hannah.boggs@la.gov
Engineering Technician 4 Angela LeMay (225) 767-9196 angela.lemay@la.gov
Engineering Technician DCL Jeremy Icenogle (225) 767-9196 jeremy.icenogle@la.gov
Concrete Research
Concrete Research Manager Vacant
Concrete Researcher Jose Milla, Ph.D., E.I. (225) 767-9730 jose.milla@la.gov
Concrete Researcher William Saunders, E.I. (225) 767-9103 william.saunders@la.gov
Engineering Technican DCL Norris Rosser (225) 767-9132 norris.rosser@la.gov
Engineering Technician 4 Leon Goudeau (225) 767-9107 leon.goudeau@la.gov
Engineering Technician 2 Austin Gueho (225) 767-9173 austin.gueho@la.gov
Engineering Materials Characterization Research Facility (EMCRF)
Professor
EMCRF Manager
Louay N. Mohammad, Ph.D., P.E. (WY), F. ASCE (225) 767-9126 louaym@ltrc.lsu.edu
Research Associate 4 Moses Akentuna, Ph.D. (225) 767-9115 makentuna1@lsu.edu
Research Associate 5 Wei Cao, Ph.D. (225) 767-9105 wcao@lsu.edu
Research Specialist 2 James Ryan (225) 767-9109 jamesryan@lsu.edu
Structures Research
Sr. Structures Research Engineer Walid Alaywan, Ph.D., P.E. (225) 767-9106 walid.alaywan@la.gov

Special Studies

Title Name Phone Number E-mail
Special Studies
Research Administrator
Kirk Zeringue, P.E. (225) 767-9169 Kirk.Zeringue@la.gov
Planning and Intermodal Research
Professor Chester Wilmot, Ph.D. (225) 578-4697 cecgw@lsu.edu
ITS & Traffic Research
Assistant Professor, Research
ITS/Traffic Program Manager
Julius A. Codjoe, Ph.D., P.E. (225) 767-9761 Julius.Codjoe@la.gov
Research Associate V Raju Thapa, Ph.D. (225) 767-9161 Raju.Thapa@la.gov
Safety
Assistant Professor, Research Elisabeta Mitran, Ph.D. (225) 767-9129 elisabeta.mitran@LA.GOV

Technology Transfer and Training

Title Name Phone Number E-mail
Associate Director
Technology Transfer & Training
Mary Leah Coco, Ph.D. (225) 767-9167 maryleah.coco@la.gov
Computer Manager Paul Hendricks (225) 767-9119 paul.hendricks@la.gov
Technology Transfer
Support Services
David Jumper (225) 767-9737 david.jumper@la.gov

Publications

Title Name Phone Number E-mail
Public Information Director Jenny Kirkland (225) 767-9183 jenny.kirkland@la.gov
Technical Writer & Editor Jenny Gilbert (225) 767-9150 jenny.gilbert@la.gov
Multi Media Specialist Emily Wolfe (225) 767-9145 emily.wolfe@la.gov
Photographer/Videographer Chris Melton (225) 767-9114 chris.melton2@la.gov

Technology Transfer

Title Name Phone Number E-mail
Technology Transfer Engineer Michael Boudreaux, P.E. (225) 767-9123 michael.b.boudreaux@la.gov

Structured Training Program

Title Name Phone Number E-mail
DOTD Structured
Training Director
Keri Runnels (225) 767-9125 keri.runnels@la.gov
Management Development
Program Manager
Ted Ball (225) 767-9714 ted.ball@la.gov
Safety and Special Topics
Training Program Manager
Kristi M. Folse (225) 767-9137 kristi.folse@la.gov
Construction and Materials
Training Program Manager
John Dean (225) 767-9725 john.dean@la.gov
District Training Liaison
PCC/Structural Training
Keith Beard (225) 767-9186 keith.beard@la.gov
Asphalt Concrete Training Patrick Frazier (225) 767-9159 patrick.frazier@la.gov
Maintenance Training
Program Manager
Kelvin Stone (225) 767-9130 kelvin.stone@la.gov
Training & Development Specialist Shirley Mamou (225) 767-9135 shirley.mamou@la.gov
Teaching Associate 4 Amy Christen (225) 767-9743 amy.christen@la.gov
Training Records
Program Manager
Susan Nichols (225) 767-9140 susan.nichols@la.gov

External Training Programs

Title Name Phone Number E-mail
DOTD External
Training Director
Angela Rovaris (225) 767-9141 angela.rovaris@la.gov
NHI/Individual Registration/
Special Event Program Manager
Allison Landry (225) 767-9134 allison.landry@la.gov
Microsoft/CADD/
Special Training Program Manager
Melissa Lee (225) 767-9155 melissa.lee@la.gov
Education Outreach
Program Manager
Rebecca Rizzutto (225) 767-9187 rebecca.rizzutto@la.gov
Teaching Associate,
DOTD Leadership
Development Institute
Garrett Wheat (225) 767-9144 garrett.wheat@la.gov
Librarian Sandy Brady (225) 767-9716 sandra.brady@la.gov
TTEC Administrative Coordinator Brenda Wolfe (225) 767-9720 brenda.wolfe@la.gov
Audio Visual Manager Patrick Mehaffey (225) 767-9719 patrick.mehaffey@la.gov
Training Program Coordinator Layne Brown (225) 767-9721 layne.brown@la.gov

Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP)

Title Name Phone Number E-mail
Director, LTAP Steve Strength, P.E., P.T.O.E. (225) 767-9184 steve.strength@la.gov
LTAP & LRSP Business Manager Courtney Dupre (225) 767-9117 courtney.dupre@la.gov
LTAP Program Manager Vacant  
Local Road Safety
& LPA Program Manager
Leonard P. Marretta (225) 767-9122 leo.marretta@la.gov
LTAP Innovation & Technology Transfer Manager Rudynah E. Capone, MPA (225) 767-9718 rudynah.capone@la.gov
LTAP Training Program Coordinator Olivia Phelps (225) 767-9745 olivia.phelps@la.gov



LTRC Policy Committee


Name Title
Christopher P. Knotts, P.E. Chief Engineer, DOTD
Sam Cooper, Ph.D., P.E. Director, LTRC (ex-officio)
Tyson Rupnow, Ph.D., P.E. Associate Director, Research, LTRC (ex-officio)
Mary Leah Coco, Ph.D. Associate Director, Technology Transfer & Training, LTRC (ex-officio)
Norma Jean Mattei, Ph.D., P.E. Civil Engineering Chairman, University of New Orleans
Katherine Raymond, Ph.D School of Science & Engineering, Tulane University
Eric Kalivoda, Ph.D., P.E. Assistant Secretary, Planning and Programming, DOTD
Vince Latino, P.E. Assistant Secretary of Operations, DOTD
Nazimuddin "Wasi" Wasiuddin, Ph.D., P.E. Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering, Louisiana Tech University
George Voyiadjis, Ph.D. Professor, Louisiana State University
Ken McManis, Ph.D., P.E. Professor and Head of Department of Civil Engineering, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Dimitrios Dermisis, Ph.D., P.E. Assistant Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, McNeese State University
Dr. Joshua A. Joseph, Jr., MPP, PMC, EIT Chair, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, Southern University
Laura Phillips, Observer Federal Highway Administration



LTRC Foundation


Name Affiliation
Samuel B. Cooper, Jr. LTRC
Tyson Rupnow LTRC
Mary Leah Coco LTRC
Christopher P. Knotts DOTD
Eric Kalivoda DOTD
Vince Latino DOTD
Nazimuddin Wasiuddin Louisiana Tech University
Ken McManis University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Joshua A. Joseph Southern University
Katherine Raymond Tulane University
George Voyiadjis Louisiana State University
Norma Jean Mattei University of New Orleans
Dimitrios Dermisis McNeese State University
Robert Yeargain Asphalt Products Unlimited
Bill Temple Concrete and Aggregates Association of Louisiana
Ken Naquin Associated General Contractors
Doreen Brasseaux ACEC of Louisiana


Download the LTRC Foundation brochure >>

The LTRC Foundation is governed by a board of directors whose composition reflects the nature of the transportation community (public, private, and academic). Included in this group are three representatives of DOTD, two LTRC administrative positions, four private industry representatives, and representatives of the seven Louisiana universities with engineering programs (University of New Orleans, Southern University, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Tulane University, and Louisiana State University).

The LTRC Foundation: The foundation was chartered as a non-profit corporation instituted solely for the purpose of enhancing and supporting LTRC. A primary purpose of LTRC is to establish cooperation among the groups who work to improve Louisiana’s transportation systems. The LTRC Foundation represents a unique opportunity for government, industry, and academia to partner in meeting that expectation.

Accomplishments: The foundation exists to enhance and support LTRC as the focus for 1) transportation and safety infrastructure research, 2) education, and 3) transportation training in Louisiana. The first goal of the foundation was to plan, develop, and construct the Transportation Training and Education Center (TTEC) for the entire transportation community. This goal was realized when TTEC became operational in January 2006.

Other accomplishments include the ALF (Accelerated Loading Facility) Building and addition of the ATLaS 30, which maximizes pavement testing by simulating the effects of dual truck tires at maximum loads over various distances on both asphalt and concrete pavements. In addition, the foundation has led the distribution of AASHTO scholarships and awards to local students, impacting the next generation of leadership in the transportation community.

Future Goals: While the foundation is proud of its accomplishments, much work remains in the quest to lead LTRC to national prominence. Future goals for the LTRC Foundation include:

  • Planning and construction of a new LTRC building
  • Enhancing the research/equipment capabilities of LTRC
  • Endowing LTRC Research Professorships
  • Promoting TTEC as a regional center for transportation workforce development

Supporting the LTRC Foundation: The LTRC Foundation seeks to effect a true public/private partnership for improving transportation in Louisiana. In that regard, parties interested in supporting the foundation are encouraged to contact the LTRC Director or any member of the LTRC Foundation Board of Directors for further information.

Tax Exempt status of foundation: The LTRC Foundation was incorporated as a non-profit corporation under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and has been assigned an Employer Identifi cation Number, 72-1350383. Tax exempt status was approved by the IRS on April 10, 1998. Accordingly, donors may deduct contributions to the foundation as provided in Section 170 of the Code.