various images representing LTRC's focus areas

External Programs

  • Associate Director
  • Vijaya (V.J.) Gopu, Ph.D., P.E.
  • (225) 767-9102
  • V.J. Gopu

Research and Development

Pavement and Geotechnical Research

  • Pavement and Geotechnical Research Administrator
  • Zhongjie "Doc" Zhang, Ph.D., P.E.
  • (225) 767-9162
  • Doc Zhang
  • Pavement Research Engineer (In Training)
  • Jun Liu
  • (225) 767-9115
  • Jun Liu
  • Professor-Research, Accelerated Pavement Research Program Manager
  • Zhong Wu, Ph.D., P.E.
  • (225) 749-8900
  • Zhong Wu
  • Pavement Research Facility Manager
  • Moinul Mahdi, Ph.D.
  • (225) 749-8900
  • Moinul Mahdi
  • Engineering Technician
  • Vacant
  • Professor, Research - GERL Manager
  • Murad Abu-Farsakh, Ph.D., P.E.
  • (225) 767-9147
  • Murad Abu-Farsakh

Materials Research

  • Professor, SRPC Director
  • Louay N. Mohammad, Ph.D., P.E. (WY), F. ASCE
  • (225) 767-9126
  • Louay Mohammad
  • Research Specialist
  • Vacant
  • Research Associate
  • Vacant

Special Studies

  • Special Studies Research Administrator
  • Julius A. Codjoe, Ph.D., P.E.
  • (225) 767-9761
  • Julius Codjoe
  • Assistant Professor, Research, Planning/Intermodal Research Manager
  • Ruijie “Rebecca” Bian, Ph.D., P.E.
  • (225) 767-9163
  • Ruijie Bian
  • Assistant Professor, Research, ITS/Traffic Research Manager
  • Milhan Moomen, Ph.D.
  • (225) 767-9161
  • Milhan Moomen
  • Assistant Professor, Research, Safety Research Manager
  • Elisabeta Mitran, Ph.D.
  • (225) 767-9129
  • Elisabeta Mitran
  • Senior Structures Research Engineer
  • Walid Alaywan, Ph.D., P.E.
  • (225) 767-9106
  • Walid Alaywan

Technology Transfer and Training

  • Associate Director, Technology Transfer and Training
  • Mary Leah Coco, Ph.D.
  • (225) 767-9167
  • Mary Leah Coco


Technology Transfer

Internal Training Program

  • HQ Training /CPTP & Specialized Training Program Manager
  • Mike Labat
  • (225) 767-9743
  • Pre-Construction & Specialized Training Program Manager
  • Heather Huval
  • (225) 767-9166
  • Heather Huval
  • Portland Cement Concrete & Specialized Training Program Manager
  • Vacant
  • Testing/Security/Course Substitutions Training Program Manager
  • Claire Dixon
  • (225) 767-9135
  • Claire Dixon
  • Maintenance/Loss Prevention Training Program Manager
  • Keith Antee
  • (225) 767-9125
  • Keith Antee
  • Hot Mix Asphalt (HMA) & Specialized Training Program Manager
  • Hannah Boggs
  • (225) 767-9725
  • Hannah Boggs
  • Success Factors & Specialized Training Program Manager
  • Dimetrie Chopin
  • (225) 767-9130
  • Dimetrie Chopin

External Training Program

  • NHI/Individual Registration/Special Event Program Manager
  • Allison Landry
  • (225) 767-9134
  • Allison Landry
  • Microsoft/CADD/Special Training Program Manager
  • Melissa Lee
  • (225) 767-9155
  • Melissa Lee
  • Special Topics and Professional Skills Training Manager
  • Layne Brown
  • (225) 767-9721
  • Layne Brown

Local Technical Assistance Program

  • LTAP Innovation and Technology Transfer Manager
  • Vacant

LTRC Policy Committee

Name Title
Chad Winchester, P.E. Chief Engineer, DOTD
Sam Cooper, Ph.D., P.E. Director, LTRC (ex-officio)
Tyson Rupnow, Ph.D., P.E. Associate Director, Research, LTRC (ex-officio)
Mary Leah Coco, Ph.D. Associate Director, Technology Transfer and Training, LTRC (ex-officio)
Norma Jean Mattei, Ph.D., P.E. Civil Engineering Chairman, University of New Orleans
Katherine Raymond, Ph.D., P.E. School of Science and Engineering, Tulane University
M. Todd Donmyer, P.E. Deputy Assistant Secretary of Operations, DOTD
Nazimuddin "Wasi" Wasiuddin, Ph.D., P.E. Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering, Louisiana Tech University
George Voyiadjis, Ph.D. Professor, Louisiana State University
Mohammad Jamal Khattak, Ph.D., P.E. University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Firouz Rosti, Ph.D., P.E. Assistant Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, McNeese State University
Alex Hak-Chul Shin, Ph.D., P.E. Professor and Interim Chair, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Southern University
Laura Phillips, Observer Federal Highway Administration

LTRC Foundation

Name Affiliation
Samuel B. Cooper, Jr., Ph.D., P.E. LTRC
Tyson Rupnow, Ph.D., P.E. LTRC
Mary Leah Coco, Ph.D. LTRC
Chad Winchester, P.E. DOTD
M. Todd Donmyer, P.E. DOTD
Nazimuddin Wasiuddin, Ph.D., P.E. Louisiana Tech University
Mohammad Jamal Khattak, Ph.D., P.E. University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Alex Hak-Chul Shin, Ph.D., P.E. Southern University
Katherine Raymond, Ph.D., P.E. Tulane University
George Voyiadjis, Ph.D. Louisiana State University
Norma Jean Mattei, Ph.D., P.E. University of New Orleans, Foundation Chair
Firouz Rosti, Ph.D., P.E. McNeese State University
Robert Yeargain Asphalt Products Unlimited
Michael Demouy Concrete and Aggregates Association of Louisiana
Ken Naquin Associated General Contractors
Barker Dirmann ACEC of Louisiana

Download the LTRC Foundation brochure

The LTRC Foundation is governed by a board of directors whose composition reflects the nature of the transportation community (public, private, and academic). Included in this group are three representatives of DOTD, two LTRC administrative positions, four private industry representatives, and representatives of the seven Louisiana universities with engineering programs (University of New Orleans, Southern University, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Tulane University, and Louisiana State University).

The LTRC Foundation: The foundation was chartered as a non-profit corporation instituted solely for the purpose of enhancing and supporting LTRC. A primary purpose of LTRC is to establish cooperation among the groups who work to improve Louisiana’s transportation systems. The LTRC Foundation represents a unique opportunity for government, industry, and academia to partner in meeting that expectation.

Accomplishments: The foundation exists to enhance and support LTRC as the focus for 1) transportation and safety infrastructure research, 2) education, and 3) transportation training in Louisiana. The first goal of the foundation was to plan, develop, and construct the Transportation Training and Education Center (TTEC) for the entire transportation community. This goal was realized when TTEC became operational in January 2006.

Other accomplishments include the ALF (Accelerated Loading Facility) Building and addition of the ATLaS 30, which maximizes pavement testing by simulating the effects of dual truck tires at maximum loads over various distances on both asphalt and concrete pavements. In addition, the foundation has led the distribution of AASHTO scholarships and awards to local students, impacting the next generation of leadership in the transportation community.

Future Goals: While the foundation is proud of its accomplishments, much work remains in the quest to lead LTRC to national prominence. Future goals for the LTRC Foundation include:

  • Planning and construction of a new LTRC building
  • Enhancing the research/equipment capabilities of LTRC
  • Endowing LTRC Research Professorships
  • Promoting TTEC as a regional center for transportation workforce development

Supporting the LTRC Foundation: The LTRC Foundation seeks to effect a true public/private partnership for improving transportation in Louisiana. In that regard, parties interested in supporting the foundation are encouraged to contact the LTRC Director or any member of the LTRC Foundation Board of Directors for further information.

Tax Exempt status of foundation: The LTRC Foundation was incorporated as a non-profit corporation under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and has been assigned an Employer Identifi cation Number, 72-1350383. Tax exempt status was approved by the IRS on April 10, 1998. Accordingly, donors may deduct contributions to the foundation as provided in Section 170 of the Code.